top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMandy

So I'm a Blogger...

Updated: Jun 5, 2020

As a fun activity with my fellow Senior Mechanical Engineers before graduation, the department had a Superlative Contest with some very niche categories. I won "Most Likely to Dress Like a TV Character to Class" and was nominated as "Most Likely to Be a Youtuber". That nomination, while highly unexpected, has inspired me to try my luck at blogging and possibly youtube?


Anywho, this is my blog as I take a break from the very busy student life. In this blog, I will be showcasing my readings, projects and baking as I hope to come out of my Summer Sabbatical with fun new skills and as a better Mandy during this time of a Pandemic, Social Injustice and Police Brutality.


As I head into this Sabbatical I have given myself three levels of goals for personal growth to complete:

Level 1: Looking Outward

  • Physical Ability (Alternating runs from Couch to 10K and an hour of yoga each day)

  • Cooking ability (And you can check out my creations in Free Time Food)

  • Spanish Skills (Completing thirty minutes of DuoLingo each day)

Level 2: Looking Inward

  • Creating thinking (Alternating a half hour of writing a day with a half hour of drawing/painting)

  • Brainstorming skills (Brainstorming one new idea to solve a problem or is just plain fun and write it down)

  • Take Risks (Submitting writing, art, etc. to contests and competions)

  • Self Reflection (Take ten minutes out of my day to look out the window and just think)

Level 3: Seeing the Bigger Picture

  • Awareness (Reading books written by and about people with diverse backgrounds from me)

  • Intention (Choose three major issues and focus on knowing the facts about those issues -- I have chosen the Environment, Black Lives Matter Movement and the Democratic Campaign)

  • Take Action! (donate, change lifestyle for more beneficial environmental practices, develop art for bringing light to the issues, work on a campaign, etc.)


So hopefully I will come out of my Summer Sabbatical with all of the new found habits. Hope you enjoy following my journey, and perhaps it will lead you to your own Goals for Personal Growth or a Summer Sabbatical as well!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Run, Mandy, Run

When the global pandemic began in full swing, I knew that i couldn't just sit and watch TV or read the depressing news. I took this moment to reflect and develop goals for myself, and one of those goa

Fiber Arts and Knitting Presentation!

During my time at ITP Camp, I presented on Fiber Arts and Knitting. I only had about five participants, but it was a great experience to learn more about something I love and to practice my teaching a

100 Days of Making

Inspired by my ITP Class on creative habits called "Flossing with Picasso", I have decided to start a new habit of making every day. I will be 3D modeling something new every day for a 100 days! Feel

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page